Announcing the Winners of the 2015 UBC Health Awards

Every year, UBC offers several awards for outstanding individuals and teams that exemplify interprofessional health collaboration, education and research.

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 UBC Health Awards, which include UBC students and faculty, health professionals and community educators. Congratulations to all our winners!


John F. McCreary Prize for Interprofessional Teamwork

Dr. John McCreary was the first Coordinator of Health Sciences at UBC. The McCreary Prize was established to recognize and promote interprofessional teamwork in the health and human service professions. The award is intended to draw attention to Dr. McCreary’s vision of interprofessional collaboration in clinical work and education and the value of a team approach in meeting the health needs of British Columbians. The first McCreary Prize was awarded in 1994.

Winner: Holy Family Hospital Rehabilitation Team for their project on “Working Collaboratively Toward a Patient-Centred Goal at Holy Family Hospital using the CCAT: Collaborative Communication and Action Tool”.


Professor Jessie Gordon MacCarthy Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship has been endowed by family, friends and colleagues of the late Jessie Gordon MacCarthy, who for ten years contributed through teaching, administration and research, to the development of the Health Sciences at UBC. The award is made to an outstanding student in the final year of any pre-licensure health science program, who best combines academic excellence, demonstrated interest and leadership in the field of community health.

Winner: Matthew Laing, master’s student in the School of Social Work, UBC.


John H. V. Gilbert Interprofessional Scholarship

This scholarship has been endowed by family, friends and colleagues of Dr. John H. V. Gilbert for an outstanding student in the final year of any health or human services degree program, who combines academic excellence and demonstrated student leadership in interprofessional education for collaborative patient-centred practice.

Winner: Eun Jin Jennifer Jun, 4th year undergraduate student in the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, UBC.


John McNeill Excellence in Health Research Mentorship Award

This prestigious award, in honour of Dean Emeritus John McNeill who joined the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences in 1971, recognizes faculty members at any stage in their academic career, in any of UBC’s health-related disciplines, who have formally been identified as mentors and who exemplify a deep commitment to fostering the professional and personal development of faculty colleagues, graduate students, and post-doctoral fellows, in the early stages of their academic career.

Winner: Dr. Annette Browne, Professor in the School of Nursing, UBC.


R. Paul Kerston Community Educator Award

Named after long-time community educator, R. Paul Kerston, this annual award was established in 2014 to honour outstanding community educators who have made a difference to student learning at UBC.

Winner: Paula Carr, Community Strategist and Intercultural Neighbourhood Developer with Collingwood Neighbourhood House.


Award for Outstanding Leadership in Advancing Interprofessional Professional Development

This award honours an outstanding individual or health care team that promotes professional development in the areas of collaborative teaching among different health care professionals and/or collaborative patient-centred practice to support excellence in the delivery of patient-centred care.

Winner: The Comfort Plan Team at the Burnaby Centre for Mental Health and Addiction (BCMHA).


Practice Education Team Award

This award honours an outstanding health care team that demonstrates interprofessional education and collaborative practice that is evident to students.

Winner: Royal Jubilee Hospital Pain Clinic.


The 2016 UBC Health Awards Competition will be announced in April 2016.